By David Appelbaum

Subjects: Philosophy
Paperback : 9780791427989, 186 pages, February 1996
Hardcover : 9780791427972, 186 pages, February 1996

Alternative formats available from:

Table of contents


Part I. Preliminary Collection

1. Instruments

The Blank of Mind
Inner Speaking
Inner Listening

2. Usages

Perception of the Formless and Formless Perception
Two Digressions


Nirvikalpanic and Visayagatic Perception in Advaita Vedanta
On Visual Geometry



Part II. Transition to Movement

3. Husserl and Internal Time Consciousness

4. Toward a Somatic Critique of Retentivity

5. The Betweenness of the Somatic Field

6. Digression on Projective Geometry

Part III. Transformation

7. The Interval

8. Objectivity and Meaning

9. Sympathy and the Plight of the Self

10. "Becoming Similar"

11. Nondisclosure

Part IV. Summons

12. Initiation

13. Suffering and the Passivity of the Subject

14. Effort and Praxis

15. Conscience

16. The Surpassing

Postscript. The Mighty



This book is about the disruption of the intellect that awakens consciousness to its wholeness and purpose. When consciousness is fractured, its world-making powers are momentarily disrupted. In the gap, during which spatio-temporal categories of thought cease to apply, consciousness realigns with that which it is meant to serve. The moment of self-remembering—shocking, unique, and truthful—leaves a call to obedience in its wake. To refuse to respond is to cease to be human.

David Appelbaum is Professor of Philosophy at the State University of New York, The College at New Paltz. He is the author of Everyday Spirits, The Stop, and Voice, also published by SUNY Press.


"Great originality and depth. Appelbaum is important and unique in modern philosophy. " — Jacob Needleman, San Francisco State University