Shared Governance in Higher Education Set (Volumes 1, 2 and 3)

Edited by Sharon F. Cramer & Peter L. K. Knuepfer

Subjects: Education Policy And Leadership, Higher Education, Education
Hardcover : 9781438481197, 812 pages, June 2020

A trilogy exploring different aspects of shared governance in higher education.


Shared Governance in Higher Education, Volume 1
Shared Governance in Higher Education, Volume 2
Shared Governance in Higher Education, Volume 3

Pragmatic shared-governance resources are difficult to find. Much written about the topic is theoretical, and few who have in-depth experience take time to describe what they've learned. This series meets the need, enabling new or experienced governance members to have easy access to the insights of governance leaders, representing all stakeholders—faculty, staff, administrators, and students. Each chapter is based on honest analyses of governance experiences. Challenging shared-governance topics—such as navigating accreditation, faculty review of academic deans, diversity, shared accountability, engaging new administrators in shared governance, establishing task forces on difficult topics such as preventing sexual violence, and budget allocations—are thoroughly explored. A rubric for evaluating the effectiveness of shared governance can be used for self-study (Volume 3), as can eight case studies appearing across the three volumes. Comprehensive indices are provided for each volume.

Sharon F. Cramer is Distinguished Service Professor Emerita at Buffalo State College, State University of New York, and Parliamentarian Emerita for the SUNY University Faculty Senate. She is the editor of the first two volumes in the Shared Governance series published by SUNY Press and the coauthor (with Jan Stivers) of A Teacher's Guide to Change: Understanding, Navigating, and Leading the Process. Peter L. K. Knuepfer is Associate Professor of Geological Sciences and Environmental Studies at Binghamton University, State University of New York, and Immediate Past President of the SUNY University Faculty Senate.