Varieties of Postmodern Theology

By David Ray Griffin, William A. Beardslee, and Joe Holland

Subjects: Constructive Postmodernism
Series: SUNY series in Constructive Postmodern Thought
Paperback : 9780791400517, 164 pages, July 1989
Hardcover : 9780791400500, 164 pages, July 1989

Alternative formats available from:

Table of contents


Introduction to SUNY Series in Constructive Postmodern Thought
David Ray Griffin

1. Introduction: Varieties of Postmodern Theology
David Ray Griffin

2. The Postmodern Paradigm and Contemporary Catholicism
Joe Holland

3. Postmodern Theology and A/theology: A Response to Mark C. Taylor
David Ray Griffin

4. Christ in the Postmodern Age: Reflections Inspired by Jean-Francois Lyotard
William A. Beardslee

5. Postmodern Theology as Liberation Theology: A Response to Harvey Cox
David Ray Griffin

6. The Cultural Vision of Pope John Paul II: Toward a Conservative/Liberal Postmodern Dialogue
Joe Holland

7. Liberation Theology and Postmodern Philosophy: A Response to Cornel West
David Ray Griffin

8. Cornel West's Postmodern Theology
William A. Beardslee

Notes on Authors and Centers


Sorts out the confusion created by the use of the term “postmodern” in relation to widely divergent theological positions.


This book sorts out the confusion created by the use of the term "postmodern" in relation to widely divergent theological positions. Four different types of postmodern theology are distinguished in the preface: constructive, deconstructive, liberationist, and conservative. Two forms of each type are discussed in the book.

Writing from a constructive, postmodern perspective, the authors enter into dialogue with the deconstructive postmodernism of Mark C. Taylor and Jean-François Lyotard, with the liberationist postmodernism of Harvey Cox and Cornel West, and with the conservative postmodernism of George William Rutler and John Paul II.

David Ray Griffin is professor of philosophy of religion at the School of Theology at Claremont and Claremont Graduate School, executive director of the Center for Process Studies, and founding president of the Center for a Postmodern World. William A. Beardslee is Charles Howard Candler Professor of Religion Emeritus at Emory University and director of the Process and Faith Program of the Center for Process Studies in Claremont, California. Joe Holland is executive director of the Pallottine Institute for Lay leadership and Apostolate Research at Seton Hall University and director of the American Catholic Lay Network in Washington, DC.