Mothership Connections

A Black Atlantic Synthesis of Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology

By Theodore Walker Jr.

Subjects: Metaphysics
Series: SUNY series in Constructive Postmodern Thought
Paperback : 9780791460900, 164 pages, September 2014
Hardcover : 9780791460894, 164 pages, May 2004

Alternative formats available from:

Table of contents

Preface

Acknowledgments

Series Introduction

Abbreviations

PART ONE: Modernity in Constructive Postmodern and Black Atlantic Views

1. Constructive Postmodern Views of Modernity: David Ray Griffin, William A. Beardslee, Joe Holland, and Frederick Ferré

2. Black Atlantic Views of Modernity: Charles H. Long and Paul Gilroy

PART TWO: Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology: A Description

3. What is Neoclassical Metaphysics?

4. What is Black Theology?

PART THREE: Neoclassical Metaphysics and Black Theology: A Black Atlantic Synthesis

5. Toward a Metaphysics of Struggle

6. Toward a Metaphysics of Power

7. Toward a Metaphysics of Ethics

8. Epilogue: Toward a Fully Adequate Postmodern Theology

APPENDIX A: What is Metaphysics?

APPENDIX B: What is Theology?

Notes

References

Note on Supporting Center

Index

SUNY series in Constructive Postmodern Thought

Contributes a black Atlantic perspective to postmodernism, theology, and metaphysics.

Description

Bringing a black Atlantic approach to constructive postmodern efforts to understand and transcend modern worldviews and modern world orders, Mothership Connections draws upon the work of scholars in the tradition of W. E. B. Du Bois, Charles H. Long, Alfred North Whitehead, and Charles Hartshorne. The author shows that connections to the originating influences of transatlantic slavery and black Atlantic experiences are essential to any adequate account of modernity and postmodernity. He also argues that metaphysics is essential to theology and moral theory, synthesizing neoclassical metaphysics and black theology to develop a black Atlantic account of metaphysical aspects of struggle, power, and ethical deliberation.

Theodore Walker Jr. is Associate Professor of Ethics and Society at the Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University and the author of Empower the People: Social Ethics for the African-American Church.